top of page

College and Tea Lover Approved

Hello, all! I wanna share with y'all my most prized college-approved appliance. I use a stainless steel electric tea kettle and it was a true blessing for a college dorm - dweller like myself. Before my senior year, I had a nice glass tea pot that I would fill with water that I microwaved in another cup. It was sad, really, having to heat up the same mug 4 or 5 times and pray the whole pot would still be hot enough to brew by the end of it. Either that or I'd have to just plain heat up the whole mug of water in the microwave which led to many-a unimpressive tea time. But this marvelous thing makes me feel like I was positively Stone Aged in my methods. This kettle obeys the University rules by not having a hot plate (its heating mechanism is inside the pot) AND it has an automatic shut off for when the water has been brought to a boil. Other benefits of my kettle are that it is stainless steel, it holds 2 L of water, quickly heats up, and it has a short cord so I can cart it around the house with me to different rooms easily. Even when I moved into the sorority house and finally had stove access, it was still much more convenient to roll out of bed all bleary-eyed, flip the kettle's switch and climb back into bed as it got brought to boil. I got it from my mom, who just randomly had it in her house still nicely in its package, but I saw similar ones at Wal-Mart for a pretty good price ($35-$45) that have the same functions and features. For college students, you should definitely invest!

Happy steeping!

- KayCee

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page