top of page

Tea Review: Lifetime Tea Jet Lag Awake


Hey Steepers! I thought it was time for another tea review, so I decided to pull out one of my new samples from Lifetime Tea. This is one of the companies we're considering for our private label tea brand, so we really need to get to know their tea offerings. That said, let's get up close and personal with this Jet Lag Awake tea. "Awake" teas are blends that should be in every tea company's collection and we won't be an exception. That's what made me select this from the Lifetime Tea website. I know lots of people, myself included, that do not drink coffee, so we'll need to have a tea that is caffeinated or that uses natural herbs that promote alertness and mental sharpness.

Based on the description, this one seemed like a good option! It contains spearmint, gynostemma, and green mate. All of which make frequent appearances in blends like this.

As soon as I opened the bag, it sort of smelled like raspberries and smelled really sweet while steeping. I got excited! I thought the ingredients looked really HIGH quality so I had HIGH hopes, but I was HIGHly disappointed in my first sip. I honestly have no way to even begin to describe it, but it tasted very medicinal. That's not uncommon in teas that are blended for a specific purpose such as: sleep teas, awake teas, cold/flu, etc.), but I don't think I can get past this. Needless to say, this will not be one of our private label blends, but we will keep searching! Hope this doesn't offend anyone that may be a fan of this blend, but it simply what not my cup of tea (pun intended).

I can't just leave this post by telling you what not to drink, so I'll offer a suggestion of something I actually like! :)

Mate is an ingredient that is naturally high in caffeine and it is the star component to one of my favorite teas to stay awake. It is the Samurai Chai Mate tea from Teavana. This is a staple in my collection, so I recommend you give it a try!

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page