top of page

Carrot Top Trial


You guys don't know this but I totally want to be a farmer. So while I have free time, I'm trying to educate myself and better my gardening skills by good old trial and error and Pinterest. I've seen plenty of Pins talking about re-growing kitchen scraps and I thought this would be a much sooner gratification than starting from seeds. So when we roasted carrots a few weeks ago, I did what Google told me to do to salvage the crop. Only I found it doesn't regrow a whole carrot just the tops. I almost just tossed the scraps, when a sentence on the page caught my eye. Carrot top tea?! Well of course I at least had to try! I put the scraps in water and was gleefully rewarded with bushy carrot tops. After about two weeks of caring for the cute little windowsill greens, I decided to try to steep them.

Carrot top benefits can include detoxifying and strengthening the kidneys and contain protein, potassium, Vitamin K, and chlorophyll (which is said to have positive effects on tumors but don't quote me!) First I rinsed them in baking soda water. I gave the greens a sniff; smelled like dirt. But like good dirt, y'know? I steeped the tops in water that was only just too hot to touch, scared to burn the leaves (they looked really delicate and fragile!). The water turned the palest of greens. I took my first sip to find... It also tastes like dirt. However, I drank it all so what does that say about me? Haha.

If you wanna try this unconventional cuppa, pop on over to this site: https://columbiacreations.blogspot.com/2011/08/carrot-top-tea.html , it's what I used!

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page